Bernin’ down the house

Photo credit/ Connor Moffitt

Being in the press can take you to some exciting places.

Ahead of tomorrow’s primary election, several of the candidates running for President made their way to Scranton, including Hillary Clinton, Ted Cruz and Bernie Sanders.

Connor Moffitt, one of The Wood Word’s writers, and I were able to secure press privileges to see Senator Sanders, and Connor and multimedia editor Alex Weidner then went to see Secretary Clinton and Senator Cruz.

After Sanders’ speech, we got some interviews with people at the event, including those on both sides of the aisle, from Sanders supporters to Trump supporters.

Regardless of your feelings in this election, it’s incredibly exciting to be able to hear the candidates speak their ideas, and it’s one of the things that I’m most excited about regarding my press career.

If I was able to get into a rally for Senator Bernie Sanders just using my Wood Word press badge, imagine the sorts of places that I’ll be able to get once I start getting sent out to do more stories at work.

Because of the opportunities it’ll afford me, I’m starting to look forward more and more to graduation.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

One thought on “Bernin’ down the house

Leave a comment