A little introduction

Ciao everyone! 

My name is Irene Torresani, and for the next year I will share little bits of my life and my experiences as a Comm Art student with all of you.  There are few things that you need to know about me:

  • I am a sophomore Ad/PR major at Marywood University.
  • I’m a passionate reader of Latin American literature.
  • I love traveling (I will talk more about my adventures in my future posts!).
  • I really enjoy the work of Harold Eugene Edgerton.
  • I believe that watching good movies with a cup of tea could cure mostly any problem.
  • I am Italian (and I don’t mean Italian as in my-nana’s mother-was-Italian kind of thing. I am 100% Italian, straight off the plane). 

I moved from Milan to the United States my junior year of high school, following my dad’s career all the way to Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania. It was a terrifying experience at first; I didn’t speak the language, I didn’t have any friends (being that I didn’t know anyone), and I had no idea how everything worked around here. But in just a few months, I was already comfortable with the language, I had my group of friends, and I started feeling liked I belonged here a little more. 

It has been four years now since I have come to this country, and I can honestly say that throughout the years, I’ve realized the incredible opportunity that’s been given me. I’ve met so many wonderful people. I’ve traveled far more than I would ever imagine. I’ve opened myself to all sorts of new experiences and cultures. I’ve become more and more globally conscious each day, and most importantly, I have learned to believe in myself. 

It’s funny how surprising life can be. I would have never pictured myself where I am today four years ago, but here I am, writing for this blog, in a language that isn’t my native language, sharing my story with people that I never thought I could connect with, talking about my experiences as a student in the U.S.A.

I’ve come a long way since I first got off that plane four summers ago. Thinking back about my first fall in Clarks Summit, I was scared and anxious, now I am just enjoying these last few warm days of the ghost of this past summer, while I start working on a lot of exciting new projects.

Who knows what other surprises life will bring me in this next year? What I know is that I am excited and ready for them, and I cannot wait to share them with you. 

I hope everyone is taking advantage of this gorgeous weather. With a clear sky and a hint of fall in the air, being outdoors is almost mandatory! I know that college can be busy sometimes, but it’s good to take  a break every once in a while and enjoy the beautiful world that’s around you.

Irene (:    

Leave a Reply

