Radio Shift

Hi!

In my last blog post, I briefly mentioned the radio shift I do at 91.7 VMFM. The shift is from 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. on Sunday nights and features local musicians from Scranton and surrounding areas. I do the shift with upperclassman Mariah Wolk, and we each pick a certain number of songs to play each week.

Last week, we had our first shift where we successfully did our scheduled programming. We started out with a local group from Scranton called Black Tie Stereo. After that, we played many more local favorites such as Esta Coda, Tigers Jaw, and A Social State. Although we mainly played alternative bands, we also featured a local rapper, DeeKey. The full playlist can be found below, along with links to the songs that we played.

One of my favorite parts of our program is receiving requests from listeners. During our shift, we received a request for “Faceless” by A Social State, which just so happened to already be on our playlist!   Aside from that, we received other requests for local bands that we will be playing next week. We always encourage listeners to call in (at 570-348-6202) and suggest songs for us to play, as long as they are clean and ready for the radio.

Concerning non-radio related news, all of my other activities and classes have been going really well. I am thoroughly enjoying my audio mixer position at TVM. We had another run-through on Tuesday and it went very smoothly. I’m looking forward to going live next week. Aside from that, I recently finished my first project in my Video 1 class and I’m very excited to share it with everybody. Once it’s graded, I’ll upload it to YouTube and share it here.

Well, that’s it for this week. Check back next week for more updates, and be sure to tune in to 91.7 VMFM this Sunday from 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. 🙂

Here’s our playlist from this past Sunday:

– Jonah

Featured image courtesy of Alex Weidner

Leave a Reply

