I ‘heart’ Comm Arts

My freshman year of college, I had a doormat in my dorm that had the words, “eat, sleep, study” printed repeatedly on it. As I approach the halfway point of my senior year, I wish I still had that rug. I want it to remind me to eat, sleep and study because most days I can barely find the time.

To give you a sense for what I’m talking about, let me give you a rundown of one of my days last week–Thursday.


10:00 a.m. – Internship

I filmed the WBS Penguins broadcaster for a web video. Cool stuff!

2:00 p.m. – Head to school from internship

I have a paper to write for my night class at 6 p.m.—how’s that for time management? :/

4:30 p.m. – Meet with Brigid to film my video bio for the school newspaper’s website.

Ah! Taping took longer than expected. I am not as skilled in front of the camera as the broadcaster I filmed earlier. Fake it ’til you make it.

5:30 p.m. – Proofread paper and print for class.

I work better under pressure… at least I hope so.

6:00 p.m. –Go to Comm Ethic’s and Law

Learn about Sunshine laws and feast on trail mix for dinner.

8:30 p.m. – Blog time!

What to write, what to write….?


As you can see, my schedule is crazy and occasionally I forget to eat, sleep and eh, write papers before the day they are due.

One thing I never seem to forget is how much I love what I’m doing.

In the midst of running from place to place, I stopped myself to take a picture of a little green leaf in the shape of a heart.  I keep noticing things that look like hearts, and I’ve been documenting them with pictures to understand what they might be trying to tell me.

I am fairly certain the leaf I came across today was an indication that my heart is happy about my future career goals.  🙂

If you are having trouble finding your life’s purpose– check out this article to help narrow things down.

Until next time!

-Juliette

Leave a Reply

