Exciting News

When I was about 10 years old, I went to the bookstore with my mom. I found a scrapbook I really wanted. I remember spotting it on the shelf and looking at it like it was gold. It had a blue plastic cover with a square cut out in the middle to place your picture and a line underneath to write, “Juliette’s Scrapbook.”

I begged my mom for that book, but she told me that if I really wanted it, I’d have to save my money; she’d bring me back when I had enough.

As soon as we got home, I did every chore around the house to make some extra cash. I went up to my mom that evening to show her the money, and ask if she would take me the next day to get the scrapbook. She looked down at me and said, “You’re a determined sucker, aren’t ya.”

Ever since that day, if I really want something, I remember that I am a determined sucker, and I do everything I can to make it happen.

Close to three years ago, I made the decision to transfer to Marywood. Soon after, I decided studying abroad would be my next step. Marywood offers a lot of study abroad options, and it was close to home, so I could commute and find a part-time job to save money.

Shortly after, I was putting down my deposit for a summer trip to Ireland. I was nervous and scared, but unbelievably excited that I finally put my plans into action. After the trip, I wrote a reflection paper about my travels and in it, I expressed my desire to travel again to someplace new.

So I got it in my head to prioritize one last study abroad trip before I graduate. Just this week, I put my deposit down on a spring break trip to Paris, because after all, I’m one determined sucker.

tumblr_n2p3elZGfH1s9lptno1_500

Paramount Pictures / Via pretty-lonely-girl.tumblr.com

As always, stay tune for more!

-Juliette

Leave a Reply

