Up to speed

This week, I just wanted to catch you up to speed on what I’ve been up to.

The week started with my radio shift on Sunday night. Mariah and I are still doing the local music hour, and we decided that it will be every Sunday from 9 to 10 p.m.  This week went really well, and we are getting better at transitioning everything. We faced a few difficulties initially since we had to bring in the music ourselves and play it through a program that is different from the normal radio program, but I feel like we finally got the hang of it.  Things have been going much more smoothly.

Then, on Monday, we returned to our Video Production class / lab. This week, we turned in our Picture Essay projects and viewed a few of them. It was very interesting to see how so many people could be doing the same project, yet have their own spin on it and make it completely personal and different. However, we quickly moved on to our new project, which includes creating a news package. The news package can be on any topic approved by the professor, but has to be (somewhat) relative to Marywood and has to include interviews with Marywood students. I haven’t decided on a topic yet, but I’m thinking about covering new apps and their impact on campus life.

On Tuesday, I had my Communication Theory class. To read more about that class, see my previous blog that covers what it’s all about. Recently, we’ve been working on our Teach-A-Theory projects. These projects involve us creating a video to explain a popular communication theory. My group chose the theory of Semiotics, which says that all communication messages are made up of signs. We already created the scripts for this project, and I have a feeling that this will be a very fun project. I can’t wait to see how the final product turns out.

Also on Tuesday, we had our first live TVM program. Everything went better than expected, and we didn’t face too many technical difficulties. Although there were a few, everyone handled themselves very professionally, and all went well. It was sort of nerve-wracking, yet very exciting to finally have the program on air. I am starting to settle in to my position there as the audio mixer. Every week, I look forward to TVM, and I’m glad that everything is up and running.

That’s about it for this week.  Be sure to check back next week for more updates!

-Jonah

Leave a Reply

