Mistakes Happen

Me: “Sorry about the mistake today! It won’t happen again.”

Internship Boss: “Yep. Now you know for next time.”


I can’t say that I’m killing it at my internship, but I sure am learning!

In fact, the above conversation has frequented so much that now every time I apologize I get the feeling of déjà vu.

My last mistake involved me plugging the microphone into the headphone jack, which resulted in minutes worth of mute broadcast footage. Whoops!

Sometimes I envision myself to be like Mulan, striving to prove my worth (slightly dramatic– but you get the point.)

Fingers crossed that my skill set improves as quickly as Mulan’s.

In the beginning, my mistakes were really discouraging, but as the semester progresses, I am starting to find the positives in them.

I am a firm believer in the idea that everything happens for a reason. So much so, that I truly think the universe places negatives and positives at certain points throughout our lives to better prepare us for the future.

*Cue the eye rolls and ‘hippie-dippie’ remarks*

Let me explain….

I have a history of being a bit controlling. The last guy I dated (who I picked up for every date … because I prefer to drive), might like to describe me as a control freak—whatever.

I can’t control the past mistakes I have made at my internship. All I can do is try my best to avoid the next ones.

In my eyes, the universe is reminding me (rather harshly) that mistakes happen, and even though they are discouraging, I can’t let them get me down. Not only am I human, but I am also an amateur at video production.

All in all, I think this internship is teaching me a lot more than I had thought!


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-juliette_dsc7207Juliette Meyers is a senior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as Arts & Entertainment editor for The Wood Word, or blogging over on her personal blog, Strawberries and Creme. Learn more about Juliette here.

Leave a Reply

