Trying new things

When I first started at Marywood, I was consumed by Communication Arts. It was the only thing I was a part of. As time went on, I realized I should branch out a little more to get a fuller college experience. As a commuter, it was really hard to meet students that weren’t commuters. Events always took place after 9 p.m., and I was always so tired at that point that all I could think about was crawling into my bed, which was 20 minutes away. Driving home at night was a bummer.

But, I made the effort, as all of you saw last semester. I joined Zeta Phi Delta, the sorority on campus, and it has really helped me become more involved on campus and meet residents who are just absolutely fabulous. So, when given another opportunity to do another on campus activity, how could I say no?

My class load is going to be quite light after this semester. I only need 36 more credits to graduate and instead of cramming that into two 18 credit semesters and going crazy, I’m going to take it easy. Twelve credit semesters sound lovely, and I am excited to be able to make more time for other things I have always wanted to try, which leads me to my next point.

There are two girls at Marywood who are Irish step dancers, and they want to start a team. As a former Irish step dancer, and all around lover of everything Irish, I jumped on the opportunity to be a part of this. We met last Thursday for the first time, and I was in awe of the talent these girls have. They are such amazing dancers and I won’t lie, I’m pretty intimidated. But, the practice was fun and we will have to see what happens from here.


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-brigid_dsc7198Brigid Edmunds is a junior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as multimedia editor for The Wood Word and as news director for TV-Marywood. Learn more about Brigid here.

Leave a Reply

