Smell the roses

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” – Ferris Bueller

Suddenly, I realized that it’s been a while since I’ve looked around. Just like that, everything is happening at once.

Last weekend, my family and I celebrated my sister’s 15th birthday. I posted a throwback photo of her to Instagram, and captioned it with a happy birthday wish and a bit of shock that she’s now becoming a full-fledged teenager.

I remember when she was two, and I would sit her in her doll’s stroller and scoot her around the house.

In the midst of the birthday festivities, my mom looked over at her four grown babies, and reminded us of all the excitement that is to come within the next year.

This spring, my brother will graduate from grade school and me from college. By the summer my older brother will be getting married, and next fall my sister will be 16.

All these exciting events are a good reminder of how far we’ve all come. The thing is, when these milestones aren’t thrown into the mix, it’s easy to travel through life at a hasty pace.

I recently made a video presentation for my video production class. I picked all my favorite Instagrams from the last two years, and set them in chronological order.

When I watch the video back, it’s a big reminder of how fast life really moves.

Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses!

Juliette


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-juliette_dsc7207Juliette Meyers is a senior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as Arts & Entertainment editor for The Wood Word, or blogging over on her personal blog, Strawberries and Creme.

Leave a Reply

