A Snowy Thanksgiving

If you ask me to go out in the snow, I will most likely always say yes.

Something about the snow excites my spirit.  I think I associate it with a certain type of stillness. Its  beauty distracts my mind and helps me be in the moment.

On Wednesday, the day before Thanksgiving, we were graced with the first snowfall of the season. In the thick of the snowstorm, I followed my brother and his friend into the woods. The two of them were looking for an adventure; I was just in it for some photos.

As I looked up at the wiry treetops, each lined with snow, I felt so small but also so lucky to be apart of this wonderful earth.

In a few hours, the roads were plowed and the hustle and bustle of the world carried on. As I drove into the busyness, I made it my mission to carry the same thankful heart I had in the snowy woods with me.

It is so easy to forget with all our daily stresses that some of the things we have, others are praying for. Based on a few of my previous blog posts, sometimes I get held up on schoolwork and my internship. However, I am starting to realize that though these things are important to me, I shouldn’t let the stress they cause stray me from the thankfulness I have toward them.

“You’ve gotta know that there’s a world far bigger than you, and you’re lucky to exist in it.”- Pharrell Williams

IMG_5596

 

IMG_5577

 

IMG_5652

Stay warm dolls, and always count your blessings!


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-juliette_dsc7207Juliette Meyers is a senior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as Arts & Entertainment editor for The Wood Word, or blogging over on her personal blog, Strawberries and Creme.

 

Leave a Reply

