Marywood, I’ll Miss You

I used to think I was someone who really thrived on change. I was always eager to transfer schools, move to new states, and start from scratch.

That was before I understood that maybe my idea of loving change was really just my way of running from consistency.

So I rooted myself here at Marywood and waited for the newness to wear off and my inner voice to start nagging me to seek adventure someplace else.

Oddly enough, I still don’t want to leave.

At a get together for my friend Brigid’s birthday this past weekend, I looked around at the circle of friends I have been welcomed into, and I felt a bit of anxiousness in the pit of my stomach.

I just recently got to know these people, and before long I won’t be able to see them on campus and in class throughout the week.

And for the first time in a long time, I felt afraid of change.

“It’s a terrible thing, I think, in life to wait until you’re ready. I have this feeling now that actually no one is ever ready to do anything. There is almost no such thing as ready. There is only now. And you may as well do it now. Generally speaking, now is as good a time as any.” – Hugh Laurie


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-juliette_dsc7207Juliette Meyers is a senior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as Arts & Entertainment editor forThe Wood Word, or blogging over on her personal blog Sassy Native.

Leave a Reply

