Realizations

Hello everyone,

As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, I am taking a lot of communication arts classes this semester, but I am also taking a few general education classes to fulfill all of my requirements.

When I first started school, I wasn’t quite sure whether I was going to enjoy these classes or not, because I simply looked at them as mandatory classes that I needed to take in order to graduate. But as the weeks (and the semesters, gasp!) went by, I realized that these “requirements” were very interesting and had a lot to offer.

This realization came to be true this semester as well, when I decided to enroll in “Political and Liberation Theology.” The course focuses on contemplation and social action, which are explored through different exercises and activities.

There are two main activities practiced in this course. The first one involves choosing a spiritual practice to be carried out throughout the semester while keeping a reflection journal; the second one is a social entrepreneurship project designed and run by a group of students.

I have already chosen both a spiritual practice and an entrepreneurship project, and I am excited to see what the results of my work will be. I find this class extremely interesting and rewarding. It’s good to have a class that pushes you to take a stand and try to make a difference in this world because it’s easy to get caught up in our everyday lives and forget about the importance of being socially conscious.

This course is helping me learn not only about social sciences, but also about my personal growth. It helps me realize what kind of person I want to grow up to be, and what steps I can take in order to make that happen. I am excited to show you where this class will take me. Stay tuned!

-Irene


 FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-irene_dsc7196Irene Torresani is a sophomore advertising and public relations major. When she’s not blogging for Frame Your Future, she’s serving as vice president for Marywood’s PRSSA and AAF chapters.

Leave a Reply

