Inspiration

I am typing this from a “VIP” lounge inside the Marriott in Boston, and my cafe table overlooks the bay. The scene is quite beautiful, despite the frigid air that bit my face walking to my destination. This change of scenery is exactly what I needed to break my dry spell of personal blogging.

Since the first of the year, about 95 percent of the blogging I’ve done has been for Frame Your Future, which means I’ve left my personal blog to sit inactive. It’s not something I’m proud of but I haven’t been inspired by anything lately, which is sad. As a blogger, it’s important to keep fresh content coming on your site, or people will stop coming back. But, being at school everyday and going through the same routine in the same bitter weather hasn’t warmed me up to the idea of writing. I feel it in my bones that it’s about to change.

I love traveling to new places, no matter how close to or far from Scranton they are. There is always an adventure to be had and within that adventure, a story to tell. I may not know what adventure lies before me on this trip or even in my life, but it’s important to step back and take it all in for the experience, but also for the story.

And I’ve learned that you don’t always need to leave your hometown to find adventure. Through some contacts I’ve made in the blogging world, I was asked to write a guest post for a blog tour about The Beatles and music in general. I jumped at the opportunity for two reasons: 1) I love The Beatles. 2) And, it’s amazing to get my work published on a forum outside of a personal site or a school site. The piece will be published next Wednesday, and you can find it here.

For now, I’ll enjoy the view and see what adventure lies ahead. I’m sure you will hear about it next time! (:


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-brigid_dsc7198Brigid Edmunds is a junior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as multimedia editor for The Wood Word and as news director for TV-Marywood.

Leave a Reply

