Making a PSA

Recently, I reached  a deadline for the first major project in my Video Production 2 class. The project involved creating a 30-second PSA, or public service announcement, which could be on any topic we wanted. The criteria involved music for the video, a script, original content, and obviously, a quality final product.

For my PSA, I wanted to cover a topic that was personal, yet relatable to many people. I decided to cover the topic of smoking, since many family members and friends have been affected by this problem. Many of them have successfully kicked the habit, but I still felt it would be a worthwhile topic to cover.

The idea for the video started with a comment from my dad. He told me that whenever he looked at smoke stacks bellowing out polluted smoke, he always thought of someone exhaling smoke from a cigarette drag. After hearing that, I had the idea to capture videos of someone smoking, and then, when exhaling, the video cutting to footage of smoke stacks. The idea is simple, yet I feel it is an effective metaphor for the pollution that smoking causes, internally and externally.

Concerning the music, I had a very specific idea for what I wanted. I wanted dramatic orchestral music for the smoking clips. Then, I wanted loud, spastic music for the smoke stack clips. Instead of searching for music that perfectly matched what I wanted, I decided to make my own music on a program called FL Studio. I was able to create what I was hearing in my head and I think it translated pretty well.

After acquiring the footage, all I had to do was edit. The editing took a decent amount of time, but was worthwhile, and I feel that the final product is a good representation of what I had in mind. I am excited to turn this project in and get feedback from my professor.

Watch the video here!

See you next week!


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-jonah_dsc7220Jonah Kramer is a freshman digital media major. In addition to blogging for Frame Your Future, Jonah is a disc jockey for 91.7 VMFM and an audio technician for TV-Marywood.

Leave a Reply

