Practicing

Hello everyone!

This week, I have been busy planning this year’s PRSSA/AAF induction ceremony, where the new members of the chapters will officially become members of these wonderful associations. This was the first time that I’ve planned an event completely on my own, and although it was a lot of work, it was also a great way to practice and learn new skills, which I will absolutely need next year when I will be serving as president for both PRSSA and AAF.

One of the first things we had to do was reserve a good place to host the induction. We decided to use a small theatre in the Center for Natural and Health Sciences, called Comerford Theatre. Once the reservation was made, we had to start thinking about an invitation list, making sure that we were including most of the Communication Arts department, as well as the inductees’ families. With the invitation list done, we then created an invite to send out to the list of selected family and faculty members.

IMG_0164   IMG_0162

 

After that, we contacted a guest speaker, Mandy Boyle (Marywood alumni and Public Relations professional) and we planned out a small program for the event.

2015-03-27 11.54.37  2015-03-27 11.54.50

 

We decided to have some light refreshments at the conclusion of the induction, so I had to contact Marywood’s catering service, and request food and beverages to be delivered to the theatre. I also had to make signs to direct people to the theatre, as well as a quick PowerPoint including the logos of PRSSA and AAF.

2015-03-27 11.58.54

 

Lastly, I had to write a quick speech, which I will use to introduce the guest speaker, as well as myself, to the audience. Overall, I had a great time planning this event, and it made me excited to take on a lot of more projects next semester. Stay tuned to hear about how the event turned out. Hopefully, I will only be using positive words!

-Irene


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-irene_dsc7196Irene Torresani is a sophomore advertising and public relations major. When she’s not blogging for Frame Your Future, she’s serving as vice president for Marywood’s PRSSA and AAF chapters.

Leave a Reply

