Life Lessons

You see the green monster in the photo above? That’s my sister’s friend’s little brother. I took this photo last spring when I was picking my sister up from her friends house. While I was waiting for my sister to come outside, her friend’s brother traipsed into the front of the house with his costume in hand. He threw it into the grass, dove into the suit, and immediately started dancing in front of my car window.

I loved the scene he was creating, so I tried sneak a photo of him. Between dance moves, he caught me taking his picture. I heard him mumble something through the mesh mouth hole of his costume, and then he turned his back to me in the most disappointed way.

“Oh no! I’m sorry,” I said to him while trying to keep a straight face. What a sensitive little monster. I explained to him that I was taking the picture because I liked the costume, not to make fun of him.

He didn’t answer me, but I’m assuming he got over it because he continued to dance.

You might be wondering why I dug up this photo, and why I felt the need to rehash the story that goes with it.

I guess because it’s one of my favorite pictures. I like the composition, the colors, and what it represents. It reminds me not to take life too seriously.

They say that we find the things we want most in life when we stop looking for them. I wasn’t looking to take one of my favorite pictures that particular day, or to stumble upon a charismatic little monster who taught me something about life. Sometimes things just happen when they should.

Right now, it’s hard for me to stop looking for the things I want, especially since I’m graduating in a few short weeks. But there comes a point when some things are no longer in our control, and if it’s right then it’s right, and if it’s not, then we hope for something else just as good.

So I’m just going to continue to enjoy where I am right now, similar to a green monster I met a while ago. I’m going to bask in the uncertainty of my next step, and the excitement of the options I have.


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-juliette_dsc7207Juliette Meyers is a senior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as Arts & Entertainment editor for The Wood Word, or blogging over on her personal blog Sassy Native.

Leave a Reply

