Breaking News

Hey, everyone! Easter break has come and gone. Now we are all faced with the craziness of the end of the semester. I can’t believe how quickly this semester has been going. One of my last big projects for the end of the year is my second News Story for my News Writing course.

In preparation for getting back into our journalistic writing, we had a news writing exercise in class. Dr. Wotanis handed out a news release from Marywood’s Public Relations department. It was about the upcoming event, Tails for Troops. The event is happening on April 18 and is being hosted by the Student Veteran Alliance.

Our job in class was to take the news release about this event and write our own preview article for the event. Besides taking News Writing, I am also taking PR Writing this semester. It is great to see both sides of PR and journalism in my separate classes. In PR, I am taught how to write the most eye-catching press release. And in News Writing, I am being taught how to break apart that press release for information.

The exercise was great practice in doing background research, picking good interview sources, and creating good interview questions. It was a great refresher since it has been a while since I wrote my last story. I’m looking forward to the challenge of this next news story. I only wish I didn’t have so many other projects from my other classes to as well. What can you do? It is the end of the semester, after all, so of course things are going to be crazy busy!


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-erin_dsc7210Erin Murphy is a sophomore advertising and public relations major. She transferred to Marywood just this year. When she’s not blogging, she’s serving as assistant business manager at The Wood Word.

Leave a Reply

