Our Last Hurrah

Last week a few of the professors in the communications department took us bloggers out for a celebratory dinner. One year of blogging down, woo hoo!

We went to Kyoto, a local hibachi gem here in NEPA. We all had a really fun time, including Jonah—a newbie to hibachi-style eating.

In reflection of the night, I was reassured of three things….

#1. I am old.

Throughout the night the conversation around the hibachi grill flowed from next semester’s course schedules to dorm room selections. It suddenly sank in that I won’t be coming back next year, and simultaneously the onion volcano made my eyes water.

#2. I have some pretty amazing professors.

My adviser, Lindsey Wotanis, or as some would say, the glue that keeps us comm arts majors together, has set up some of the kindest end-of-the-semester get-togethers. Aside from an awesome hibachi dinner, she gave each of us a gift card to Rita’s Italian Ice. Needless to say, there were some envious comm arts majors that weren’t part of the blogging crew.

#3. It doesn’t matter how many times you’ve been to hibachi, the fire is always scary.

Word to the wise, move your chair back a couple steps before the grill-master starts. I realize hibachi chefs are not referred to as grill-masters, but that’s what they are in my eyes.

There you have it, three things a trip to Kyoto brought to my attention. Stay tuned for my last couple blog posts before graduation. This blog, and all of the people who put it together will be missed dearly by me.

I’m seeing frequent ‘guest blogger’ in my future 😉


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-juliette_dsc7207Juliette Meyers is a senior broadcast journalism major. When she’s not blogging for FYF, she’s serving as Arts & Entertainment editor for The Wood Word, or blogging over on her personal blog Sassy Native.

Leave a Reply

