Public Relations Presentation

Hey everyone!

I finally finished up my final project in my Public Relations Writing course. It was a really fun project to do. We all had to choose a company with the need for a Public Relations professional and create a media plan for the company.

I chose Nintendo to help promote their brand new system called the New Nintendo 3DS XL.  Since this was all hypothetical, I was given an unlimited budget for my media campaign. I originally believed the hardest problem with the new system would be the fact that it is almost identical to the Nintendo 3DS XL.

The only major difference between the two systems is that the new 3DS XL has amiibo capability, and better hardware. I was wrong that this was the only problem with the system. Nintendo customers has suffered horrible customer service during the last limited edition release of the new 3DS XL. So one of my strategies in my media campaign was to improve customer service.

I was really proud of my media campaign. My favorite part of the project was the strategies I created to promote awareness of the product. I created the #chooseyourownamiibo event. Amiibos are little figures that come to life in Nintendo games. Many of them are used in the popular Super Smash Bros. games for the Wii u and 3DS, but they can  be used in other games.

During this event, a large new 3DS XL display with be set up. Two strangers will be asked to pick their own Amiibo figure, scan the fighter, and then battle against each other.

At the winner’s screen, the display will open up, and the Amiibo fighters will come out from the displays. These actors dressed like popular Nintendo characters will go up to the people who had chosen them and talk to them about the battle, then after two minutes would go back into the display, and the process would start over again.

It was a great project, and I enjoyed looking at Nintendo promotion through Public Relations strategies instead of the usual advertising strategies.


FYF_Post_Page_Thumbnail-erin_dsc7210Erin Murphy is a sophomore advertising and public relations major. She transferred to Marywood just this year. When she’s not blogging, she’s serving as assistant business manager at The Wood Word.

Leave a Reply

