Busy Weeks

Big things are happening on campus. Have you heard?

I won’t get too much into the details here, but you should definitely check out The Wood Word‘s website to learn more about it.

A lot of other reporters might say that their favorite parts of doing journalism are the interesting people they talk to. Others might thrive on the excitement of knowing that a ton of people are reading their work.

Do you want to know what the most exciting thing about being a journalist is to me?

I’ve always been a bit of a history nerd, so I love the fact that my role as a journalist lets me be on the front line of history as it happens.

Over the past few months, and culminating over the past few weeks, Marywood University has been celebrating its Centennial Year. Last semester, I was working on a project for The Wood Word where I looked into some of the documents that survived from the beginning of the university. Some of those documents were from the university’s student-run newspaper, still (somewhat unfortunately) called The Marywoodian at that point.

This semester, while I was working in our office (which I practically live in these days) on some of my articles about the Centennial year, I realized something: in another hundred years, another student journalist might be leafing through my articles.

Although this role isn’t always emphasized, every journalist has a very important job as a sort of contemporary historian, by which I mean that they are recording history as it happens. We get the opportunity to watch history unfold before us, and we have the responsibility to record it well.

Can you tell me that’s not exciting?


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

Leave a Reply

