First chapter

As the glamor and confusion of the first few weeks of college settle down, I find myself with more time to think about what is actually happening. Thoughts like ‘I’m in college now’ and ‘I graduated high school’ tend to be present during these times. And honestly, taking the leap from high school to college was–and still is–scary. I went from top of the class to a confused little fish in an ocean of slightly bigger fish that sort of know where they’re going.

College is a completely new world. Everyone is on an even playing field. Besides that, there are so many opportunities for students to investigate their interests. As a Comm Arts student, there are so many paths I can follow that will lead me to a career. Even though I am focused on Digital Media right now, my interests can change over the course of the next four years.

What’s great about Marywood is that I can explore the different aspects of the Communications field through on-campus clubs. I promised myself that I wouldn’t get too involved after high school, but that promise turned out to be empty. So far, I am a member of:

Textbooks and notebooks and homework, oh my!

Textbooks and notebooks and homework, oh my!

I’m also a member of The Bayleaf, Marywood’s Art and Literature magazine. As you can see, it’s not easy for me to sit still. It’s actually quite impossible. But these organizations aren’t just fun and games. Well, they are fun. However, they allow anyone involved to see what really goes on in the media industry, just on a smaller scale.

Joining these organizations has given me the chance to meet so many talented students and professors and collaborate on interesting projects all within the first month of freshman year. Being involved has made the transition from high school to college less intimidating. It has made writing the first chapter of a new story that much easier.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628Jessica is a freshman Comm Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s a writer for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the PRSSA/AAF. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

 

Leave a Reply

