Feeling lucky

As a Comm Arts major I feel pretty lucky.My perspective on the world has changed and I have grown in so many ways because the field introduced me to so many different positions.

Teachers teach differently and students learn differently, so naturally I feel that those who study in Communication Arts develop a power to effect the world the same way-differently.

And that makes me feel lucky. It’s a creative, hands-on, and extremely versatile environment and is truly a special place to learn and grow. Once you take the first step, you are exposed to paths you didn’t take; you get to taste more than what you bought and you become as versatile as the field.

Since I have been introduced to so much, I’ve discovered passions that I might not have if I never got to explore the land of Comm Arts. I found a love for Journalism and writing, and sparked strong interests in Digital Media and Photography.

I write for an online site called, The Odyssey, to strengthen my writing skills like a journalist, and open doors for myself in the future. I rent out the university’s DSLR cameras to take pictures in my spare time and familiarize myself with different techniques to improve my photography/video skills like a Photographer, or someone in Digital Media.

Not only has Comm Arts helped me find new passions, but it’s helped me to  follow them as well. I consider myself to be much more than just an Advertising major. My curiosity keeps building, my mind keeps expanding, and my knowledge keeps growing. In my mind, to be somewhere that has that kind of affect on you is pretty lucky.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Shayna--Post Thumbnail-DSC_0581Shayna Orr is a sophomore Advertising & Public Relations major. When she’s not in class, she’s working for PRSSA and working as a deejay for 91.7 VMFM.

Leave a Reply

