ME or Paper Boy?

About two days ago while I’m writing this, the physical copies of this year’s first issue of The Wood Word were delivered to campus.

When you’re an editor at The Wood Word, one of your jobs is to deliver a stack of papers to certain buildings on campus. As the managing editor, one of my jobs is to assign all the editors a few places on campus to deliver their papers.

The delivery process is easily my least favorite part of the job.

Normally, my days are spent running around campus, visiting with professors, administration, and students in the hopes of getting interviews for stories, writing up the stories quickly, getting the stories on our website (thanks to our fantastic Web Editor, Anne Zukowski), and getting them shared over social media (thanks to our equally fantastic Social Media Editor, Kristen Pietryka). Somehow, in between all of that, I go to class, too.

I spend so much time worrying about the content that goes into the paper, that I sometimes forget about the importance of the end result: the paper itself. So I always ended up delivering my papers, while grumbling to myself about how it’s taking time out of my day.

But things are a bit different this year.

Recently, The Wood Word has decided to take itself in a more serious direction, focusing less on “fluff” and doing harder news pieces. And people are noticing.

So this week, when I was delivering my stack of papers, several people came up to me, telling me that The Wood Word has been doing great work recently. They also took some copies directly from me.

People seem really excited about our work. And for the first time, I don’t mind moonlighting as a paper boy.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

Leave a Reply

