Production Day

I have never experienced anything like it before. The newsroom was bustling with editors, writers, photographers, and designers all working together to create one final product. This product was the first edition of The Wood WordThis experience is known as production day, or the full day when everyone on the staff gathers to put together the campus newspaper. When I say full day, I mean it.

I arrived around 9 a.m. to an already bustling newsroom, the editors glued to the screens of their computers, the screens displaying their respective sections. I had no idea what the day entailed, but I sat down in front of a computer anyway and got to work.

Copies of the first edition of the year!

Copies of the first edition of the year!

Earlier I had learned that I was going to be promoted from (hesitant) contributor to Assistant Opinion Editor. I know it’s a big leap, especially for a freshman. But I am incredibly excited to jump in. Once I filled out my application, it was official.

A few hours of layout, research, and more layout later, the Opinion section was complete. Or so we thought. After being carefully reviewed by copy editors, we received our first draft back with corrections.

The same seemed to be happening with the paper’s other sections.

Nonetheless, we finished our section after a few more hours and a few more corrections. We couldn’t have done it completely right without the expertise of the designers.

Though there were times of frustration and confusion over how to navigate InDesign, the day was a success. We not only had a completed newspaper to send to print, but we also shared a day of bonding.

From 9 to 5, the entire staff laughed, listened to Mackelmore’s Downtown on repeat, complained, shared stories, and just enjoyed each others’ company. I may be new to The Wood Word family, but I felt like I fit right in.

I can’t wait for the next production day.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628

Jessica is a freshman Comm. Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s Asst. Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the PRSSA/AAF. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

 

Leave a Reply

