Big Interview

I’m anxious.

By the time you read this on Monday, what I’m worried about will be over, but while I write this on a Thursday, it’s still looming over me tomorrow.

What is it?

Probably the biggest interview in my career as a student journalist.

Tomorrow morning, the editorial board of The Wood Word will be sitting down Sr. Anne Munley, the president of Marywood University. We have a lot of questions for her.

The main reason why I’m anxious is because we’ve never had to take an interview so seriously before. Six of us will be at the interview, and we only have an hour to ask all of the questions that we need answers to.

But this is part of why it’s so exciting. We’ve had to do some serious work to prepare for this interview, and it makes me feel like I’m doing real work as a journalist.

We’re coming to the interview with a script in hand, of sorts, with all the questions we’re planning on asking, which member of the board is asking them, and the order in which they’ll be asked.

About twenty minutes before I sat down to write this, I just checked out two different microphones for us to record the interview with for the purpose of taking notes.

We want it to be obvious that we’re professionals. We want everyone to know that we come prepared, and that we at The Wood Word do serious journalism.

I’m even thinking about wearing a suit tomorrow for it.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

Leave a Reply

