Family

And we’re back! How was your break? Mine was short.

But I did miss one thing: all of my friends in the Comm Arts department.

I know that sounds cheesy, but whatever.

I realized this week that I’ve really grown close to a lot of the people in the department, close enough that I would call them family.

On Wednesday, a few of us were in The Wood Word‘s office for about four hours, dealing with all of the various stories that continue to go on at Marywood.

download_20151015_131820

The Wood Word Fam

As you can see in the picture, though, we don’t like to take ourselves too seriously. But what we do like to do is get good work out there.

And I think how close we are really helps with the quality of our work. We’re best friends, so we aren’t afraid to raise criticisms in each other’s work, which allows us to continuosly craft it into something better.

The comradery between members of the staff is, in my opinion, one of the most important things at The Wood Word. It’s one of the big things that I emphasize in my management style as managing editor.

When running a meeting, I like to try to keep the tone as light as appropriate. It might seem to the outsider that I just like to goof around, but I really have a strategy for it.

I want a new writer who doesn’t know me well to think of me as approachable person, so they aren’t afraid to come to me about an issue they’re facing.

And what better to do that than to think of the whole staff like family?


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

Leave a Reply

