Pitch

For my Media Programming class this week, I’ve been given the task of pitching a hypothetical television show. I must stand in front of my classmates (who will be acting as network executives) and convince them that my vision for a program is worth their time.

I could certainly imagine this being a nerve-wracking experience, even in the casual atmosphere composed of my peers and friends. There is something that is terrifying about exposing others to your art, your creations, and your ideas.

In essence, pitching a creative idea is divulging an intimate, defenseless part of your personality to the judgment of others. This idea, this piece of your being that sprang from your mind is made available for people to stomp on, rip apart, and shoot down.

Even more frightening is the unavoidable fact that if accepted, your idea will be turned over to a committee who will do what they want with it. Perhaps I’m overly anxious in regards to this assignment, but it is certainly something to think about.

As my class learned of the art of pitching a TV show to a network, my mind immediately brought me to the classic Seinfeld episode in which Jerry and George pitch their “show about nothing” to NBC. When I first saw this episode, I figured that George’s steadfast refusal to compromise on any aspect of his creative vision was solely there for comedic reasons. I’m slowly beginning to understand his need to protect his idea.

Who are these people to tell you it needs to change? Why should your message be compromised? How can you balance integrity with the opportunity to distribute your concept? It’s scary.

What’s even scarier is that I’m beginning to thoroughly relate to the neurosis of George Costanza.

(Photo from Seinfeld)


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Martin-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0589Martin Lambert is a junior digital media major. When he’s not in class, he spends time writing, watching films, making films, and enjoying music. He hopes to one day make a living through his passions.

Leave a Reply

