Ads

This past Tuesday, my Media Performance class consisted of writing a television commercial for a brand then reciting it in front of the class. Though I enjoy writing and generally do not experience overwhelming anxiety while performing in front of people, this was an assignment that I had to put some significant thought into. My favorite television commercials tend to focus on tone and atmosphere over the conveyance of dense information. I kept this in mind while formulating my ideas.

I eventually decided that an automobile advertisement could provide an effective canvas for a more surreal style of advertisement. Subaru seemed a good fit for the theme of adventure. I wanted to give the piece a trippy feel using visuals and sounds in a unique style. Using some stock footage of winter scenery I had shot last year, I cut together a short collage of clips captured from the perspective of a moving car. To provide additional atmosphere, I used a song by alt-J as gentle background music. When it was time to shoot the ad, I placed myself directly in front of the projector screen to visually become one with the scenery.

(Music: alt-J – Interlude II)

I admit that I did not go into this assignment expecting it to result in a unique product. Looking at it now, I could say that I’m very satisfied with the outcome.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Martin-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0589Martin Lambert is a junior digital media major. When he’s not in class he spends time writing, watching films, making films, and enjoying music. He hopes to one day make a living through his passions.

Leave a Reply

