Expanding

I can’t believe the semester is more than halfway over. It’s really flying by. After all, they do say time flies when you’re having fun.

Although I am enjoying just about every minute of my time as a Comm Arts student, I want to expand my horizons and take on new challenges. I am hoping to do so with The Wood Word.

Since I joined the staff, my focus has been on writing opinion pieces. As much as I love being able to combine my own thoughts with current events and hot topics, I want to see what else I can do. So far, I have taken a small hop into the Community section, covering events that happen on campus.

This is very different from writing stories about the latest technologies and debating hot topics for “He Said, She Said.” Usually, preparing for these pieces requires research and attention to detail. It also takes time to form and express an opinion based on research. Articles in the Community section still require research and attention to detail, but opinion has no place.

Rules to live by

Words to live by

Instead, a large portion of information comes from interviews. It is crucial to get important facts during interviews and blend them, along with quotes, into one seamless story.

I did come to Marywood with a background in journalism, but there is always room for improvement. I want to be the best reporter that I can be and understand as much of the news business as I can. That knowledge comes with experience and practice.

Each section of a newspaper has its challenges. I am hoping to experience all of them and learn to be a better reporter.


Jes2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628sica is a freshman Comm. Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s Asst. Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the PRSSA/AAF. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

Leave a Reply

