Excitement

The new radio station and recording studio are almost complete, and I am stoked. Since last year I have been dying to work with all the new equipment and learning all about how to use it. I really enjoy my time spent in the station, as I am a huge music fan and want to get into the industry after I graduate.  Marywood’s radio station, 91.7 VMFM, is one of the best college stations in the area, as we are consistent winners of local awards.

As a Comm Arts major, you have to complete 45 hours of practicum a semester by getting involved in activities in the department, such as becoming a deejay and host for the station. But there are other options as well. You can also receive practicum hours by taking on positions with The Wood Word (the school newspaper), TVM (Marywood’s television outlet), The Odyssey (an online site for writers), and more. There are many different tasks and responsibilities within each activity, giving students the opportunity to expand their knowledge and gain experience in different parts of the field. Though I will be spending most of my time in the radio station trying to learn absolutely everything I can about recording, producing, etc., I am also excited to get involved with TVM and learn about their new equipment.

Great value and knowledge will be found in these new facilities, so I cannot wait to get started. I have no doubt that they will help me get to where I want to go in the near future and assist in building my resume, providing solid background experience, and expanding my own personal interests. It’s just around the corner.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Shayna--Post Thumbnail-DSC_0581Shayna Orr is a sophomore Advertising & Public Relations major. When she’s not in class, she’s writing articles for The Odyssey online and working as a DJ for 91.7 VMFM.

 

Leave a Reply

