Induction

Recently, I received the honor being inducted into Marywood’s chapter of the Society for Collegiate Journalists. The Society for Collegiate Journalists is the oldest Honor Society for Journalists, having been founded in June 1975. SCJ was formed by merging two Greek Honor Societies, Pi Delta Epsilon and Alpha Pi Gamma, to create a unified nationally recognized organization.

Journalist Meg McGuire addressed the new members, current members, and guests regarding her experience in the field. She noted the importance of strong writing skills when searching for jobs and how rare this has become. She also discussed the changes social media has brought to the field, noting that people are now interconnected allowing news to travel faster.

Not being a journalism major, I was simultaneously surprised and thrilled to be invited to join such a prestigious organization. Additionally, I was so excited that my parents could attend the induction ceremony because they have been proofreading my writing for as long as I can remember!

This new opportunity has reminded me to reflect on the changes that have occurred in my writing style since writing sports articles for my high school newspaper, “The Warrior.” Although I intend to pursue a career in public relations, the things I have learned through  writing both at the high school and collegiate level will travel with me wherever I go in life. I am so grateful for this opportunity to sharpen my writing skills and learn more about the field to better prepare me for life after college.


Sophomore Alexandra Goebelbecker

Alexandra (AJ) Goebelbecker is a sophomore double major in Communication Arts and History/Political Science. When she’s not in class, she’s working for the Marywood chapter Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and serving as Editor-in-Chief of the HerCampus Marywood blog. 

 

Leave a Reply

