Change of scenery

The semester is over. I’m going home and I’m not coming back until the next Fall semester in 2016. When everyone heads back to Marywood to start their Spring semester in the beginning of January, I won’t be going with them. I’m taking a different route with my education.

Instead, I’m sticking around my hometown a little longer than everyone else, until January 25. That is the day I get on a plane and fly to Florence, Italy, where I’ll be studying abroad for the next four months. I’ll be landing in a whole new world.

It’s strange thinking about not returning to Marywood, not going back and seeing familiar faces and all of my friends, and not sitting in classes with professors I have gotten to know so well. It’s weird that once I return from abroad, I’ll be a senior and only have two semesters left.

It feels like just yesterday that I was a freshman moving into my dorm, and I don’t know how that can be because I have grown and learned so much these past few years. I have changed dramatically, and it is evident that I am not the same person I was when I first stepped foot on Marywood’s campus, but I just can’t believe how fast the time went. I can only imagine how fast these next four months will fly by.

Next semester I will continue to blog about my experiences while I’m abroad, but on a bi-weekly basis. So make sure you stick around, you certainly won’t want to miss out on the stories and experiences I share!


Sophomore Shayna OrrShayna Orr is a sophomore Advertising & Public Relations major. When she’s not in class, she’s writing articles for The Odyssey online and working as a DJ for 91.7 VMFM.

 

Leave a Reply

