Great things

Happy New Year Pacers, and welcome back to campus! If you’re anything like me, returning to campus means jumping back into a very hectic schedule headfirst. Let the chaos commence!

I have opted once again to take on double practicum in addition to a course load that seems daunting and perhaps foolish. I am very excited to get situated with the new and improved radio and TV stations and find it impossible to believe that these are my last two practicum credits!

Her Campus Marywood received word over the Christmas break that we are a silver level chapter! This honor is bestowed on chapters based on content, social media traction and overall incentive points. I am extremely proud of our improvements during the fall semester and excited about everything this spring semester has in store.

Additionally, I am in the midst of creating and drafting my History capstone as a way of alleviating my stress during senior year (stay tuned to see if that works!). I am looking into the relationship between media bias on the American people during the time of the Second Red Scare. I am confident that this topic is perfect for me because it combines my passion for both media and politics.

Mostly,  I wish it was Christmas break again when I could force my family to watch bad romantic comedies and not have any academic deadlines in site. This semester I am looking to one of my favorite funny ladies, Amy Poehler,  for inspiration. She once said: “Great people do things before they’re ready.” I am optimistic that Poehler’s words will ring true because one thing is for sure: I am not ready for this semester.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers-AJ-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0574

Alexandra (AJ) Goebelbecker is a sophomore double major in Communication Arts and History/Political Science. When she’s not in class, she’s working for the Marywood chapter Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and serving as Editor-in-Chief of the HerCampus Marywood blog.

Leave a Reply

