Sisterhood

This past week has been a reminder for me about how fast time truly flies. It seems impossible that a year ago I received my big sister in Alpha Sigma Psi. Having initially been skeptical about Greek Life and its benefits, I can say that no decision has been more worthwhile.

Growing up an exceptionally tight knit family, I found the transition to college to be a quiet one. I found myself missing the chaos of Sunday brunches and longing to fight with my siblings. Fortunately my sorority sisters have helped to make the transition and life outside of New York tolerable and eventually enjoyable. I may not have realized it at the time, but 45 new sisters was exactly what I needed to add laughter to my life.

Within the sisterhood, I was lucky enough to join a family with just the right amount of dysfunction. In this way, I was able to gain the older sister I never had and didn’t realize I had always needed. Fast forward to January 2016 and I am welcoming not one, but two new members to our small but powerful Alpha family.

Over the last week, in the  midst of everything else, I have found myself running around campus scattering clues for my two new little sorority sisters. Welcoming two new members to our sorority family has reminded me how lucky I am to be involved in Greek life especially at a school as small as Marywood.

Alpha Sigma Psi has allowed me to create lifelong friendships, expand my skills, and gain a family away from home. I could not imagine my college experience without my 45 sorority sisters. Congratulations to all of the new big sisters and remember how much of an impact you have on your new little sisters.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers-AJ-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0574Alexandra (AJ) Goebelbecker is a sophomore double major in Communication Arts and History/Political Science. When she’s not in class, she’s working for the Marywood chapter Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and serving as Editor-in-Chief of the HerCampus Marywood blog.

Leave a Reply

