Film and society

If you ever have a class where part of your homework requires you to watch “Lawrence of Arabia” scenes online, there’s a good chance that you’re a Comm Arts student.

This semester, I’m taking a class called Film and Society and it is, without a doubt, the kind of class that I’ve dreamt about for years.

I’ve always been a closet movie nerd. Like, the kind of guy who likes to discuss favorite directors and their trademarks. That sort of nerd.

And to my total happiness, that’s more or less what this class is.

Next week, I have to lead a discussion on the film “Lawrence of Arabia,” so I was doing some research on information about the movie before we watch it in class.

One of the most famous scenes in “Lawrence of Arabia” involves what is called a match cut, which is when there is a dramatic cut in the film that still maintains a continuity in theme between the images before and after the cut.

You can watch the famous cut here, where Lawrence blows out a match, and the scene immediately cuts to the rising sun over the desert. The match cut, then, involves the light from the match and that from the sun.

I may have gotten a bit too academic in the past paragraph, but like I said, I’m a movie nerd. What more can I say?


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

Leave a Reply

