Love and Kanye

As some of you may know, my dream is to be a music reporter. Part of what I’m doing to accomplish that goal is running a daily music blog, called 365 Days of Albums.

I know I’ve talked about my blog on here before, but I’ve tweaked it a bit since the last time I talked about it.

This year, instead of compiling seven album reviews into a single weekly post on Sundays, I’m writing one album review every single day of the week. In addition to this, I cross-promote every review from my Tumblr to my Instagram to increase the likelihood of the review being found by other music enthusiasts.

It’s intensive work, but probably the most fun I’ve ever had with a personal project.

So what does this all have to do with the picture of Kanye West you see above?

Kanye has taught me a major lesson: sometimes, to get ahead, you have to give the readers what they want.

As I’m writing this, we’re about an hour and 15 minutes away from the release of “The Life of Pablo,” the newest album from the seemingly ubiquitous rapper and producer.

Am I the world’s biggest Kanye West fan? Not at all. I think he’s a pretty good producer, and I think he’s just okay as far as rapping goes. If it weren’t for my blog, I probably wouldn’t even listen to the album. I just don’t personally get hyped for his releases.

So why am I excited for this release? Sweet, sweet readership.

If I don’t write up a review of “The Life of Pablo” today, I’ll miss out on the possibility of a ton of new readers finding my blog as they search through hashtags relating to Kanye and “The Life of Pablo.”

Of course, I’ll still give my fair and honest opinion of the album. But for the sake of new readers, I’m putting an album I’m not too excited about at the top of my priorities.

Photo by LittleO2, distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic license, via Wikimedia Commons.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

One thought on “Love and Kanye

  1. Pingback: Dealing with disappointment | Frame Your Future

Leave a Reply

