Technical director

Over the past semester, I’ve been working as a part of the production crew for creating live streams of Marywood’s basketball games.

We try to make it as professional as possible. We use three cameras, a production switcher, and even have students and special guests do the play-by-play and color commentary. (There is a hidden control room in Marywood’s gym, which only so many people know about.)

Over the holiday break, I was a camera operator for a few games and really enjoyed covering basketball. Everything is fast-paced, and anything can happen.

Then I decided I was ready to direct the production myself. That was even better.

As the director, my job is to choose which camera to use, how to frame shots, and to work with the camera operators and commentators to make sure the broadcast looks good.

I also serve as the technical director–the person in charge of switching the cameras. When I first directed a game, I was worried about hitting the wrong button, not communicating well, and just everything bad happening.

Some people tell me I'm very direct.

Some people tell me I’m very direct.

With a little (and by “a little” I mean “a lot”) of guidance from Kim, who works as Assistant Broadcast Operations at Marywood, and the help of a great crew, my first game went better than I had anticipated.

Now, I have a decent amount of experience as a director. And I’m only a freshman.

I never thought I would be directing during my first year in college, let alone being good at it. Practice makes perfect, and I have plenty of opportunity to practice my skills.

I can also use what I have directed in my reel when I’m applying for jobs. Marywood’s Comm Arts department is preparing me for the real world, but it feels like I’m just having fun.

I hope one day I can use my directing skills in a real life setting. All it takes is a little practice.


Jes2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628sica is a freshman Comm Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the TV-Marywood crew. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

Leave a Reply

