New challenge

I’ve decided to take on a new challenge: to learn to play the drums. Since you know that I am a resident living on campus, you are probably asking, “How and where do you think you will practice the drums?”

I ordered an electronic drum set with headphones.

Brilliant, I know.

Luckily, I know the very basics about single drums, which I learned by participating in middle school band and owning a beginner drum set at home. I also know a few people who play the drums. So, I’m pretty certain I’ll be able to quickly pick up how to play them.

I had a few problems along the way of acquiring an electronic drum set. After deciding that I am ready and willing to learn, I ordered the drums online. Unfortunately, the set I ordered ended up on back order; I was being told it wouldn’t be in stock until May, a whole two months from now!

I decided to cancel that and just go to the Montage Shoppe’s Guitar Center to search for an electronic drum set. The Shoppes are only about fifteen minutes from campus, and the Guitar Center is a musician’s dream. There were many electronic drum sets to choose from.

Why do I want to learn the drums? First, I love trying new things, especially if it involves music and instruments. Second, the drums offer a lot of opportunities for rhythm coordination between hands and feet. Also, I like that drums keep the overall rhythm of the whole band.

Much of this semester has been about trying new things, like reporting on-scene TV-Marywood packages by myself if the team is busy. Just like the drums, I’ve enjoyed this chance to try new things.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Anne-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0527Anne is a sophomore Comm Arts major concentrating in Digital Media. She’s web editor for The Wood Word, a disc jockey for 91.7 VMFM (Wednesdays at 8 p.m.), production manager for the Digital Film Production Club, and a member of TV-Marywood. She’s also Resident Representative for Student Government. @annezukowski

Leave a Reply

