The 5 Stages of Walking Into the Studio

Walking into our brand new television studio and control room can be a little overwhelming. You might experience a range of emotions. Let me walk you through it, step by step, so you can better understand how to cope. 😉

Stage One. Awe

When I first walked into the control room so many months ago, I noticed the HD screens, the multi-colored TriCaster with its endless options, the very large, very professional audio board, and even the lighting grid with its complex controls. The studio is equally beautiful, with a brand-new, towering green screen and cameras with studio configuration. It’s a lot to take in at first, which leads to stage two.

Stage Two. Nerves

All of that beautiful technology tends to make one nervous. It’s great to look at, but when it comes time to actually use it, it can be intimidating. Practice makes perfect, so it’s time to learn. Oh dear…

Stage Three. Fear

Wait, before I learn how to use everything, let me first hesitate to actually do so because I might ruin everything. What if I press the wrong button? What if I mess up some settings? What if an asteroid crashes into the studio and breaks nothing but I break everything? Maybe I can press one button and see what happens.

Audio board

Stage Four. Acceptance

I’ve pressed some buttons, and I have realized it’s not so hard. There’s a lot to remember, but I can remember everything. I’m going to be good at this.

Stage Five. Excitement

Everything is…amazing. I know what I’m doing, for the most part. I might as well set up a bed in the control room because I never want to leave. Everything is so beautiful. Now that I understand how to work the technology, it’s even better.

TVM crew

It’s worth going through Stages 1-4 to get to Stage 5, trust me.


Jes2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628sica is a freshman Comm Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the TV-Marywood crew. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

Leave a Reply

