Dear Future Comm Arts Majors

Dear Future Communication Arts Major,

Whether your dream is to become a TV anchor, or a radio DJ or an advertising copywriter, you will truly find your dream by being a Communication Arts major. Over the course of the last two years I have learned several things that I wish I had known before I declared my major and started on this crazy-wonderful journey. Although cliche in nature, I promise you will see results if you learn from my mistakes.

First, get involved. I can not stress the importance of joining activities and becoming involved. Becoming involved in department activities was the best decision I have ever made.

Next, don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. Have no experience in a broadcast environment? Well, now is the time to gain that experience.

Say what’s on your mind. Undoubtedly one of the best parts of being a Communication Arts major is the collaborative nature of the field. No broadcast can run with only one person, and you can always use a second opinion.

Get organized. Whether you choose to neurotically color-code your planner and assignments like I have or you carry everything on your phone, becoming organized is the best way to stay on top of everything you need to accomplish.

You may not know exactly where you’re going and that’s okay. I still have no idea where my degree will take me, but I know that as long as it falls in the realm of Communication Arts, I will ultimately be happy.

Work as hard as possible. You only get one chance to go to college and even more so only one chance to stand out to employers. College is what you make of it!

And finally, enjoy every moment. The last two years I have spent in the Communication Arts department have flown by, so make sure you take advantage of what little time you have.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers-AJ-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0574

Alexandra (AJ) Goebelbecker is a sophomore double major in Communication Arts and History/Political Science. When she’s not in class, she’s working for the Marywood chapter Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and serving as Editor-in-Chief of the HerCampus Marywood blog.

Leave a Reply

