One Day More

I spent last Saturday in my favorite place in the world. Student Activities sponsored a bus trip to New York City this week for students to spend the day in New York City taking in the sights and enjoying a performance of Les Miserables on Broadway.

Personally, I can never spend enough time in New York City so as soon as the opportunity to spend the day in the city presented itself, I immediately marked my calendar. This trip has given me something to look forward to in the midst of all the work that has piled up since Spring Break ended.

More than anything, Les Miserables has been my favorite musical for as long as I can remember. Having read the original book, seen the traveling tour production and the Broadway show previously, and avidly following the movie from pre-production to completion and beyond.

Even more important is that I met one of my best friends on campus through our mutual love of Les Mis. Freshman year, a blonde stranger approached me and commented on my One Day More tote bag and more than two years later, we were fortunate enough to spend the day in New York seeing the show that we love together and meeting members of the wonderful cast.

Les Miserables means so much to me and reminds me how lucky I am to have the experiences and opportunities I do because there are so many ways life could be very much worse. It also holds the wonderful sentiment that no matter how terrible things seem, you can always turn things around. Every day you are just one day closer to changing your life.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers-AJ-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0574Alexandra (AJ) Goebelbecker is a sophomore double major in Communication Arts and History/Political Science. When she’s not in class, she’s working for the Marywood chapter Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and serving as Editor-in-Chief of the HerCampus Marywood blog.

Leave a Reply

