Work, work, work

It’s been a bit of a crazy week for me.

If you remember from last week, I actually managed to get myself a job at a newspaper, The Times Leader in Wilkes-Barre.

Well, this week I started work, and the transition from student to worker has been incredibly exciting for me.

My official title at the paper is “content coordinator,” but that basically just means that I’m editing obituaries.

Is it the most glamorous career in the news industry? Absolutely not. But after a brief survey of my new coworkers in the office, there wasn’t a single person in the newsroom that didn’t get their start in the exact same position as me. Which gives me major hope.

Basically, the majority of my job involves reading obituaries that have been written by funeral homes or family members, editing them for AP style, and then sending them on to the next editor. In between this, I might be calling people who have written letters to the editor to make sure they want their letters published (they usually do) or downloading graphics for the next day’s weather to go to print.

It isn’t the kind of work that’ll get me a Pulitzer, but it’s important stuff nonetheless. And I’m just excited that a newspaper actually hired me before I even graduated.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Pat-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0598Patrick Kernan is a senior double major in broadcast journalism and English. He’s the Managing Editor at The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and an anchor at TV-Marywood. When he graduates, he hopes to work as a music reporter.

Leave a Reply

