Presidential reporting

I’ve decided it’s time for a change.

I’ve been writing for The Wood Word for two semesters now. Most of my writing has been for my section, Opinion. I’ve also written feature stories and covered events for TV-Marywood.

When I saw that a Bernie Sanders headquarters was opening in downtown Scranton, I decided that it’s time to expand my area of coverage.

I’m going to try political reporting for the 2016 presidential elections.

This election has been crazy.  But as a member of the media, it is my job to let the people know what’s going on.

Last week, the Sanders campaign held an opening “celebration” (that’s what they called it, and it was pretty accurate) at the new office location in Scranton.

I grabbed my reporter’s notebook, voice recorder, and press pass and headed down to the address listed on his website.

The first thing I noticed was a Trump truck. It was parked right outside of the office and continually circled around the block for what seemed like a “scare tactic.”

I walked into the office and wrote down all of my observations and paid attention to details in order to add some description to my story.

Scranton residents were feeling the Bern.

No matter who you’re voting for, you must admit that THIS is a cool sign. Can I get one made with my face on it?

I was incredibly nervous since my scope of reporting usually ends at the Marywood border. Nonetheless, I worked past my nerves and interviewed a lot of people at the event. I even managed to talk to the state director of the campaign.

It was an awesome experience.

In order to be unbiased in my reporting, I’m going to cover as many political (presidential) events as I can during this election season. I can definitely see more taking place in NEPA.

I have a feeling it’s going to be a busy year.

Maybe during my reporting I will also make up my mind on who to vote for. Maybe not.

Either way, I’m doing my job and the politicians are doing theirs.

I can’t wait to cover more.


Jes2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628sica is a freshman Comm Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the TV-Marywood crew. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

Leave a Reply

