Worlds

Extended periods of time spent away from something always seem to add perspective of some sort. Coming off of several days away from school, I’ve been spending significant portions of time thinking about the future and how I plan to spend it.

I was never fond of referring to post-academic life as “living in the real world.” As far as I can tell, the world I’ve lived in for the first 21 years of my life is quite real. Problems arise, stresses exist, and living can be difficult.

I am immeasurably grateful for the privileges that I have, but I am not fond of any way of thinking that implies the experience of adolescence isn’t real. That being said, I’m at a point where the demands of American adulthood can no longer be avoided. I can no longer take full comfort in the vagueness of the future.

In this sense, I do not feel that I’m entering the “real world,” but a world that is significantly different than the one I have known for most of my life. There are feelings of excitement, feelings of fear, and feelings that are impossible to decipher. The only concrete hope I have is that I can arrange my life in a way that allows for as much fulfillment as possible.

As I type this I realize that my thinking is scattered and my emotions are confused. Even in the anxiety, I recognize that there is some beauty to be found in this state of being. I want to enjoy it as much as possible.


Junior Martin LambertMartin Lambert is a junior digital media major. When he’s not in class he spends time writing, watching films, making films, and enjoying music. He hopes to one day make a living through his passions.

 

Leave a Reply

