Speaking of News

Every Comm Arts student has to take a public speaking class.

It sounds terrible, but the more I give speeches, the better I get and the more I learn about myself and the world.

Our assignment this week was to give a persuasive speech.

At first, I didn’t think I felt strongly enough about anything to give an eight minute speech. Then I remembered that I feel strongly about news and the media.

People say news should not exist. I’ve read comments on social media calling reporters liars, saying the media is brainwashing people.

Local news station WNEP even responded to a critic’s comment that the only thing needed is weather, not news. Talkback Feedback: Newswatch 16, All Weather All the Time

Although sometimes there are reporters who are dishonest and practice unethical journalism, categorizing every person who belongs to the media as a phony is wrong.

News has been around for centuries, and it is still important.

News has been around for centuries, and it is still important.

I decided that I have gained enough knowledge in my two semesters at Marywood to talk about the importance of news.

  1. I’m the Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, so I know how to structure my thoughts.
  2. Through last semester’s Comm Theory class, I’ve learned that the media mirrors society, and in turn, society influences the media.
  3. Also through Comm Theory, I have learned the purpose of news and its influence on the world.
  4. In my News Writing class this semester, I have learned what is and isn’t news worthy and have gained a greater understanding of ethics in the media.

The goal of my speech was to help stop the anger toward reporters. The majority of us are here to tell the truth.

I also hope my speech fostered a new conversation about the media. I hope my fellow classmates walked out of the room with an appreciation and understanding of news and its importance.


Jes2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628sica is a freshman Comm Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the TV-Marywood crew. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

Leave a Reply

