“It’s On Us” Video Project

Since April is known as Sexual Assault Awareness Month, I’m working on a video project for “It’s On Us.”  “It’s On Us” is a cultural movement aimed to shift the way we think, talk, and act toward each other to end sexual harassment and sexual assaults.

Many colleges are creating videos to help this movement raise awareness. Marywood’s Athletics Department reached out to members of the Communication Arts Department asking for help with making a video to raise awareness to stop sexual assaults. Did you know that one in five females and one in 16 males are sexually assaulted in their college career?

After deciding that I would like to help create this video, I contacted the coaches in charge of this video idea, and I recruited a crew to help me film and edit. I arranged a meeting with the coaches to find out who would be viewing this video, what they are envisioning the video to look like, and what kind of content would be included in the video. Then, I arranged recording time with the athletes. My crew and I decided on what equipment to use for lighting, audio, and what camera to use for the best quality.

Using our new TV studio facility, one crew member (Rachel) figured out how the studio lights work. Kyle, Bethany, and Jessica set up our cameras, and we recorded audio with lavalier mics. The next step is to edit and then send the product to the coaches.

Though this isn’t for a class or even a club, so I’m not getting a grade, or any extra credit, I’m getting practice for a project that I may encounter in the “real world environment.” I also like the message and purpose of the video. It’s on me, it’s on you, it’s on us all to stop sexual assault.

_____

Almost a week later, the video is finished. Check it out:


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Anne-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0527Anne is a sophomore Communication Arts major concentrating in Digital Media. She’s web editor for The Wood Word, a disc jockey for 91.7 VMFM (Wednesdays at 8 p.m.), and assistant news director of TV-Marywood. She’s also the resident representative for Student Government Association.

Leave a Reply

