7 Things I’ve Learned

I’m proud to say that I am half way done with getting my bachelor’s degree at Marywood University.

This year I have learned a lot about the media industry, took risks, and found my place. Here are 7 things I have learned this school year:

1. Writing skills matter. 

I realized that writing is such an important life skill. I practiced journalism writing for The Wood Word, broadcast writing for TVM News and TVM’s news packages, creative writing for The Odyssey, fun writing HerCampus, and I took a YouTube Writing & Production class where I made a YouTube channel; I had to write scripts to be organized before recording videos.

2. Working well with people is critical to success.

In my classes, I had some group projects, so I had to work with people to get things accomplished. Being assistant news director for TVM News forced me to communicate with people, from talent, to crew, and even clients.

When working with the TVM News Package Team and The Wood Word, I really have to communicate with my team members about covering events.

For Student Government Association (SGA), as resident representative and a member of the Public Affairs group, I actively participated in committees where I had the chance to work with administration to better the Marywood community. This year, SGA worked together to complete 17 goals, including getting WiFi, the room selection process, and getting agendas for next year.

3. TV and Radio shows don’t program themselves.

Through my media management class, I learned about programming and formatting both TV and radio lineups. I also learned tips about how to be a good manager and leader.

4. There’s always new technology to master.

I learned how to use our new radio and TV studio equipment. I learned about multimedia storytelling and the importance of sharing videos through the YouTube Writing & Production class.

5. Everybody needs an editor.

I’ve learned how to really edit videos, audio, and lighting using Final Cut Pro X and Adobe Premiere. Also, I practiced editing articles before putting them on The Wood Word’s website.

6. Taking risks is a good thing.

I took many risks this school year. One risk I took was flying on an airplane and traveling to Ireland for a study abroad trip with other Marywood students. I also believe in the “YOLO” philosophy–you only live once–so you might as well enjoy what you do.

7. Being an adult takes work.

I learned how to file taxes, how to get my car inspected, how to mentor others, how to dress nicely, how to vote, how to cook, how to respect others, and how to manage and enjoy my time.

Thank you for reading my posts all year. It’s been fun sharing my Comm Arts experiences with you. I hope you have a great summer!

-Anne


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Anne-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0527Anne is a sophomore digital media major. She’s web editor for The Wood Word, a disc jockey for 91.7 VMFM, secretary for the Society for Collegiate Journalists, production manager for the Digital Film Production Club, and news director of TV-Marywood. Twitter: @annezukowski 

Leave a Reply

