Student Spotlight: Kirstin Wilson (’20)

BY Mackenzie MacNeal (’18)

Freshman Advertising and Public Relations major, Kirstin Wilson talks about gaining skills at Marywood that will help her obtain her dream career in the future.

Mackenzie: Why did you choose your major?

Kirstin: I really enjoyed marketing in high school, and I was a part of different organizations in which I helped plan big events. Advertising and Public Relations incorporate both of these aspects.

Mackenzie: What are you involved with at Marywood?

Kirstin: I’m a member of Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and the American Advertising Federation(AAF), a deejay on Marywood’s radio station, VMFM 91.7, a member of promotions and publicity team for The Wood Word, and Camera #1 operator for Marywood’s television station, TV-Marywood.

14448171_1825199511100404_4608418368653885440_n

Kirstin Wilson working camera #1 for TVM.

Mackenzie: What is your favorite feature of the Communications Department?

Kirstin: I really love the Learning Commons and having my major in this building is exciting. I love the faculty here, too, because they are always helpful and kind. TV and radio here are very exciting as well, because I’ve never been able to get hands on learning experience like this before.

Mackenzie: What is your ideal career?

Kirstin: I would love to be an event planner for a nonprofit organization. I’ve always been a part of organizations that benefit different types of cancer research, like MiniTHON. I hope to be a part of an organization that works for a great cause and to plan events for that organization.

Mackenzie: Why do you think your major is important?

Kirstin: My major is important because of how many different careers can come out of it as well as the influence it has on other areas in communications.

Mackenzie: What Communication Arts class are you looking forward to taking or what has been your favorite Communication Arts class so far?

Kirstin: I’ve really enjoyed Communication Theory with Dr. Wotanis; I think she’s awesome. I’m also excited about my Video Production classes because I get to learn a new skill and it is something that interests me a lot.

Mackenzie: What assignments or projects have you completed that have helped you grow as a Communication Arts major or in your field?

Kirstin: In Communication Theory, the mentor project helped me understand practicum and why it’s important in this department. I was able to work with a Junior Ad/PR major, Alex Knittel, as he showed me the ins and outs of the Communication Arts Department.

Mackenzie: What do you want to accomplish before you leave Marywood?

Kirstin: I hope to be full of knowledge about Communication Arts and our facilities here so that I can use that knowledge in my career. I also hope to study abroad later on because I love traveling and learning new cultures. In addition, I want to take part in a service trip, but I’m not sure which one. I also hope to keep up my involvement with Love Your Melon to continue to fight childhood cancer, one beanie at a time.

Mackenzie: How do you keep up with current events on campus?

Kirstin: I check out the social medias for the Communications Arts department, especially The Wood Word and their up-to-date information.

Mackenzie: Who are your inspirations in this field?

Kirstin: I don’t have a specific inspiration in this field, but I really admire the behind the scenes workers and all they do to keep the department up and running.


 mackenzie-macneal-thumbnailMackenzie MacNeal is a junior Advertisement/Public Relations major. In her free time, she enjoys writing, tutoring, and participating in Marywood’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) chapter.

 

Leave a Reply

