Student Spotlight: McKensie Curnow (’17)

BY Mackenzie MacNeal (’18)

Advertising and Public Relations major McKensie Curnow is finishing her final semester at Marywood and has an impressive resume to share.

Mackenzie: What clubs or organizations are you involved with at Marywood?

McKensie: I serve as arts & entertainment editor for The Wood Word, secretary for the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) and the American Advertising Federation (AAF), Campus correspondent and co-founder of Her Campus Marywood, and treasurer for the Society for Collegiate Journalists. Last year, I served as captain for Marywood Cheerleading, and this year, I was lucky enough to become their Assistant Coach.

12509272_951291404953414_712648423350971427_n

McKensie Curnow (Bottom row, second from left) with her cheer team.

Mackenzie: Why are you interested in Advertising and Public Relations?

McKensie: I’m a people person. I love communicating and learning about other people! I also have a passion for writing and a knack for creativity. Both advertising and public relations get my creative juices flowing.

Mackenzie: Where do you intern, and what is your position?

McKensieLast year I began an internship at Abington Travel Agency as their Social Media Manager. Fortunately, they decided to keep me! I also intern for Jeff D’Angelo’s Design Group, where I get to paint and design props.

Mackenzie: What are your responsibilities?

McKensie: At Abington Travel Agency I work as their Social Media Manager, so I maintain their social media pages to promote the agency. At Jeff D’Angelo’s Design Group, besides painting and designing props,  I assist in designing and setting up events.

Mackenzie: How did you acquire these internships?

McKensieI used to intern for The Gathering Place in Clarks Summit. They recommended me to Abington Travel Agency and the interview went well. As for Jeff D’Angelo’s Design Group, I actually acquired the internship through The Wood Word! My favorite professor and person in the universe, Tammy Amosson, recommended that I interview Sgt. Jeff D’Angelo for my column, which focuses on what Marywood faculty and staff members do outside of Marywood. D’Angelo, who is a campus security officer on campus, ended up becoming a great friend of mine, and he offered me a position at his studio. That’s why I tell everyone to stay as involved in school as possible; great opportunities come out of the woodwork when you work hard.

Mackenzie: How has Marywood prepared you for a career in Advertising and Public Relations?

McKensieI’ve had such amazing professors in all aspects of communications. Honestly, though, being involved in organizations such as The Wood Word, TV-Marywood, VMFM 91.7 and PRSSA has been the most effective learning experience for me. I feel prepared to take on the real world by storm thanks to all of my experiences.

Mackenzie: What company/network/organization do you want to work for in the future and why?

McKensieI’m pretty open to anything. I would love to work for a magazine such as Cosmopolitan or Rolling Stone. It would also be a dream come true to work for an entertainment news network such as E! Another crazy dream of mine is to work for World Wrestling Entertainment or WWE. Everyone looks at me like I’m nuts when I tell them I love wrestling.

Mackenzie: What would you say is the most important thing to do in order to obtain a career in this field after college?

McKensieI think it’s important to stay open-minded and to never lose your sense of ambition. Never give up and keep an appetite for learning; always look for ways to improve yourself.

Mackenzie: What is your favorite thing about Communication Arts at Marywood?

McKensieClearly, I love that we have the opportunity to participate in so many great organizations. This is so corny, but so true: Communications Arts is like a family. They’re truly the best people. I love all of my professors and peers and I’ve made amazing friendships in my time at Marywood. It’s especially cool to see my peers succeed in their field because we get to do some pretty neat stuff.

Mackenzie: What areas of Communications Arts would you highlight for potential students?

McKensieI highly recommend getting involved with TV-Marywood and The Wood Word. I love everything that I’ve been involved in, but those two organizations are my favorite. They’re so much fun and there’s a position to satisfy everyone’s personal preferences and skills.

Mackenzie: Would you rather be directing a show, performing in a show, promoting a show, or editing a show?

McKensiePerforming! I love to be in the spotlight. That’s why I loved being an anchor for TV-Marywood so much. It’s so satisfying to see yourself doing what your idols do. I’ve wanted to be on television since I was a kid, so it’s cool to live out that dream right at school.


 mackenzie-macneal-thumbnailMackenzie MacNeal is a junior Advertisement/Public Relations major. In her free time, she enjoys writing, tutoring, and participating in Marywood’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) chapter.

Leave a Reply

