Student Spotlight: Bethany Wade (’18)

BY: Mackenzie MacNeal (’18)

Digital Media major Bethany Wade is doing all she can to get as much hands-on experience as she can before she graduates…a whole year early!

Mackenzie: What clubs or organizations are you involved with at Marywood?

Bethany: I’m a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, a member of the TV-Marywood package team, the teleprompter operator for the TV-Marywood broadcast, and a photographer for The Wood Word. I like to keep busy. 

Mackenzie: Which extracurricular activity in Communication Arts has influenced you the most so far at Marywood? 

Bethany: Definitely TVM. Last semester, I was the Marywood Minute anchor, which really forced me to step outside my comfort zone and gave me an opportunity to work on my on-camera skills. Additionally, I have worked on so many packages and that has really helped me learn the basics about the camera, audio and editing, since I came in with very little knowledge. 

Mackenzie: Why will you be successful in this field?

Bethany: I am someone who puts their heart and soul into everything I do. Whether it be a package, photos for an event or even something like the radio show I’m planning for next semester; I will put everything I’ve got into it, which means you’re guaranteed to get my best work every time. 

Mackenzie: What has been the most rewarding thing you have done with the Communication Arts Department?

Bethany: Hands down, covering the inauguration of Sister Mary Persico. Not only was I on a team with amazing students, but I was also given the opportunity to be talent for that package. I was even able to get a shot of all three living Marywood presidents together. That meant a lot to me.  

Mackenzie: What was your role in TV-Marywood’s 2016 Election coverage?

14980723_1071122902985035_4121757842273550505_n

Wade (left) on a panel during TVM’s Election Coverage

Bethany: During the actual event, I was the teleprompter operator and a participant in four of the panels. I also worked on two packages for the live broadcast, one of which I got to cover the final Donald Trump rally in Scranton! 

Mackenzie: What class are you most excited to take?

Bethany: I’m really looking forward to Media Scriptwriting. My first introduction to the Communications field was writing short film scripts with my best friend from high school, so I hope I’ll excel in that class! 

Mackenzie: What company/network/organization do you want to work for and why?

Answer:  My crazy dream is to work for Pixar because I absolutely love film and that company has played a big role in my storytelling techniques. Realistically, I’d love to work for any multi-channel network for YouTube, like Maker Studios, Defy Media, or Defranco Networks & Merchandise.

Mackenzie: What are some strengths of the Communication Arts Department? What attracted you to this department?

Bethany: I was coming into the department right as the Learning Commons was scheduled to open, so that was a major draw. What really got me, though, was the kindness shown to me by current students when I came to admissions events. I really knew that this department was a family and that’s exactly what I wanted in my college experience. I couldn’t be happier about my decision.

Mackenzie: What advice would you give to students who are considering a major in Communication Arts? 

Bethany: A lot of people will try to tell you that your chances of being successful in this major are slim, but don’t listen to them. If you’re willing to work hard and give it your all, there will be so many opportunities for you to succeed. 


 mackenzie-macneal-thumbnailMackenzie MacNeal is a junior Advertisement/Public Relations major. In her free time, she enjoys writing, tutoring, and participating in Marywood’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) chapter.

Leave a Reply

